Who We Are

Our credit union was chartered in October 1950, as Ft. Meade Federal Credit Union. In the early days, it served only the employees of Ft. Meade Veterans Administration Hospital. In 1985, the credit union moved into a facility in Sturgis at First & Main Streets, where it is still located today. At that time, the name was changed to Meade Plus Federal Credit Union, and the field of membership was expanded to serve additional employer groups.

A lot has changed since then, and today we are known as Northern Hills Federal Credit Union a name that better reflects our broad and diverse membership. With more than 65 years of experience serving members, we’re proud of our strength, stability, and history as a member-owned financial institution.

Members benefit because profits are returned to them in the form of better rates, lower fees, improved services, and increased reserves to maintain our financial strength.

NHFCU has kept one goal in mind — to help improve the financial state of each of its members by encouraging regular savings and responsible borrowing at fair rates. It is our philosophy — people helping people — that will lead us through the next 50 years.

When you are searching for a place to put your savings or borrow money, consider Northern Hills Federal Credit Union. We’re your local credit union and we welcome the opportunity to serve you.

Board of Directors


Laura Prosser, ChairFloyd Rummel III, CEO
Tracy Davidson, 1st Vice ChairMisty Winter, Executive Vice President
Gordon Budahl, 2nd Vice ChairCassie Pannone, Chief Financial Officer
Roger Riley, Secretary/TreasurerGloria Rantappa, Vice President Lending
Danielle Pitts, DirectorDrew Gertsch, Vice President Operations
Rick Soelzer, DirectorRhonda Cutts, Director of Administration
Rory Maynard, Director Shannon Binegar, Area Location Manager/ Spearfish Location Manager
Launa Mason, Deadwood Location Manager

Supervisory Committee

Kip Wagner, Belle Fourche Location Manager

Kim Ross, Consumer Loan Manager
Tom Termes, Chairperson
Arlene Termes, Member
Laurie Behrens, Member
Bobbie Bishop, Member