Northern Hills FCU

Our Charter

Northern Hills Federal Credit Union was chartered in October 1950 as Ft. Meade Federal Credit Union and served only the employees of the Ft. Meade Veterans Administration Hospital. In 1985, the credit union moved into a facility in Sturgis at First & Main Streets, where it is still housed today. At that time, the name was changed to Meade Plus Federal Credit Union, and the field of membership was expanded to serve additional employer groups.

In 1994, a branch was opened in Belle Fourche, SD, where it is still located today. In 1999, the credit union changed its name to Northern Hills Federal Credit Union and also received expanded field of membership rights to serve the three-county communities of Meade, Butte and Lawrence known as the Northern Hills.

A branch office was opened in Spearfish, SD, in 2004.  April 2012, the credit union received approval to expand its charter to include Pennington County and “volunteers” within the counties in our field of membership.  October 2013, brought the merger of Dakota Territory FCU, Deadwood.  We aquired approximately 3,000 members, $30 million in assets and 5 employees.

Our Mission Statement

Northern Hills Federal Credit Union is a financial cooperative, based on the philosophy of people helping people, serving everyone in all Northern Black Hills communities through our commitment to innovation, quality financial products, education and exceptional member service.

Our Promise

At Northern Hills Federal Credit Union we promise to provide personalized service, to simplify your financial life, to work in your best interest, and to help you build your financial future.

Board of Directors

Adam Martin, Chair
Gordon Budahl, 1st Vice Chair
John Yuill, 2nd Vice Chair
Rory Maynard, Secretary/Treasurer
Laurie Bedford, Director
Rick Soelzer, Director
Laura Prosser, Director

Supervisory Committee

Arlene Termes, Chairperson
Marilyn Bates, Member
Margaret Hunt, Member


Floyd Rummel III, CEO
Melody Fallon, Vice President
Marty Willms, Vice President
Rhonda Cutts, Director of Administration
Damon Punt, Branch Area Manager
Gloria Rantapaa, Deadwood Branch Manager
Cassie Carlson, Belle Fourche Branch Manager